HSBC, Barclays and PwC big business winners at European Diversity Awards

Business leaders and organisations honoured at ceremony at London’s Natural History Museum

Business leaders and organisations honoured at ceremony at London’s Natural History Museum

Some of the top names in business and finance were among the winners at the European Diversity Awards last night (Wed 30 September).

HSBC, Barclays and PwC all walked away with awards at the ceremony at the Natural History Museum – hosted by television presenter Nicki Chapman.

The awards are now in their sixth year and celebrate individuals and organisations that promote diversity and equality in their working and personal lives.

Fiona Cannon OBE, director of diversity and inclusion at Lloyds Banking Group, was named Diversity Champion of the Year.

Cannon, who received an OBE in 2011 for services to equality and diversity, was recognised for her commitment to developing the company’s diversity strategies.

The Global Diversity Award was given to Tiffany Warren. The Senior Vice-President of US-based advertising agency, Omnicom, was recognised for Championing Diverse Professionals in the Advertising Industry and beyond.

PwC scooped the Most Inclusive Employer accolade while HSBC, which has over 1,000 branches in the UK, picked up the Diversity Team of the Year award.

Telecommunications powerhouse Vodafone were named Company of the Year while Barclays won Marketing Campaign of the Year.

Away from business the Campaigner of the Year award, which recognises an individual’s commitment to a particular cause, was awarded to Jack Monroe. The writer, best known for her book ‘A Girl Called Jack: 100 Delicious Budget Recipes, has campaigned on poverty issues for a number of years.

And there was special recognition for Claire Prosser. Founder and former director of the BBC’s Journalism Trainee Scheme, who sadly died last year, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Labour’s shadow secretary of state for business and enterprise, Angela Eagle MP, attended the awards ceremony.

She said: “The individuals and organisations winning these awards have made a significant contribution to promoting the flow of equality and opportunity throughout Europe.

“It is particularly pleasing to see businesses and business leaders recognised for their commitment to diversity and inclusion. It is incredibly important for any organisation.”

Diversity expert Linda Riley, who founded the European Diversity Awards, also paid tribute to the winners.

“All those nominated for a European Diversity Award should rightly feel proud because in their own way they have contributed to making Europe a more tolerant, diverse and just society,” she said.

“We should never forget how far we’ve come but there is still much more to do which is why these awards are so important.”

Full list of 2015 European Diversity Award winners:

1. Hero of the Year: Rioch Edwards-Brown (So You Wanna be In TV?)

2. Campaigner of the Year: Jack Monroe

3. Community Project of the Year: Diverse Futures (diversity in Performing Arts)

4. Diversity Champion of the Year: Fiona Cannon OBE (Lloyds Banking Group)

5. Journalist of the Year: Owen Jones

6. Most Inclusive Employer of the Year: PwC UK

7. Marketing Campaign of the Year: Barclays (freedom to make a statement)

8. Company of the Year: Vodafone Group PLC

9. Outstanding Employee Network Group of the Year: African Caribbean Network

10. Charity of the Year: Volunteering matters

11. Inspirational Role Model of the Year: Azita Shariati (Sodexo)

12.  Diversity Team of the Year: HSBC

13. Supplier Diversity Award of the Year: Connect to Success, US Embassy in Lisbon, Portugal

14. Global Diversity Award: Tiffany Warren

15.  Lifetime Achievement Award: Claire Prosser




Praseeda Nair

Praseeda Nair

Praseeda was Editor for from 2016 to 2018.

Related Topics

Early Stage Funding